Access Keys:
Skip to content (Access Key - 0)
Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development - Fellows at NICHD
Toggle Sidebar


Three-Minute Talks

Communicate your science and its relevance in just three minutes!

Intramural fellows (graduate students, postdocs, and clinical) can enter the competition by submitting a catchy title and brief description of their research talk, no later than Monday, February 23, 2015, to  Please use the submission form below.

All accepted fellows will get professional training in speech development and presentation delivery, plus one-on-one coaching and feedback in a supportive environment. And to end this year’s TmT activities, our finalists will present at a competition event in the summer with fellows from other institutes.

Mentor of the Year Awards 2015

The intramural scientific program of NICHD established two mentoring awards in 2008, to recognize individuals who have served as exceptional mentors to trainees in the institute. The awards are given annually, in late spring, to one investigator (tenured, tenure-track, staff clinician, or staff scientist) and to one fellow (postdoctoral, clinical, visiting, or research fellow).


The deadline for receipt of submissions is Monday, April 27, 2015.


Below are a fillable PDF nomination form and downloadable nomination criteria. Please contact Yvette Pittman with any questions.


Past Winners


  • 2014: Brant Weinstein, Ph.D., Section on Vertebrate Organogenesis
  • 2013: Mary Dasso, Ph.D., Section on Cell Cycle Regulation
  • 2012: Karl Pfeifer, Ph.D., Section on Genomic Imprinting
  • 2011: Roger Woodgate, Ph.D., Laboratory of Genomic Integrity
  • 2010: Ramanujan Hegde, M.D., Ph.D., Section on Protein Biogenesis
  • 2009: Thomas E. Dever, Ph.D., Section on Protein Biosynthesis
  • 2008: Richard J. Maraia, M.D., Section on Molecular and Cellular Biology


  • 2014: Elias Leiva-Salcedo, Ph.D., Section on Cellular Signaling
  • 2013: Schuyler van Engelenburg, Ph.D., Section on Organelle Biology
  • 2012: Prabuddha Sengupta, Ph.D., Section on Organelle Biology
  • 2011: Laurie Waters, Ph.D., Section on Environmental Gene Regulation
  • 2010: Errett Hobbs, Ph.D., Section on Environmental Gene Regulation
  • 2009: Elizabeth Fozo, Ph.D., Section on Environmental Gene Regulation
  • 2008: Itai Tzchori, Ph.D., Section on Mammalian Molecular Genetics

Nominations Process

  1. Nominations will be sought each year through e-mails to current trainees, fellows, and investigators in NICHD.  Typically the nominator will be mentored by his or her nominee, but a colleague or supervisor may also propose someone for either of these two awards. 
  2. A statement of support is required, not to exceed 500 words.
  3. Although there are no precise requirements, the statement may refer to:
    • How the mentor has supported your development as a scientist and/or clinician
    • What is outstanding about this individual, that goes beyond what is expected of all mentors

    as well as:

    • the nature of communications with your mentor

    • how ideas and knowledge are shared

    • the environment in the lab or clinic

    • the balance between supervision and autonomy

    • how feedback is given

    • what opportunities to learn and advance professionally are provided.

  4. Examples to illustrate points about the nominee are appreciated and will help to persuade the reviewers.

  5. Nominations should be e-mailed, with the attached nomination form, to:

  6. Due date: Monday, April 27, 2015
  7. Questions should be directed to Dr. Yvette Pittman in the Office of Education, DIR, NICHD

Review of Nominees

  1. Two representatives of the postbaccalaureate fellows in NICHD, a graduate student, and three fellows in the postdoctoral group, including one clinician, will evaluate all nominations. A member of the previous year’s committee will be asked to serve, to ensure continuity. The Director of the DIR’s Office of Education will serve ex officio.
  2. The Selection Committee will review each submission and work to achieve consensus on the winners. If several nominees are considered equally meritorious, the group may vote to finalize their selections.
  3. Awards will be made to winners in both the investigator and the fellow categories at a spring event held to honor graduating postbaccalaureate fellows, to which members of the intramural NICHD community will be invited. Finalists for the awards will be recognized at the event, at which the winner will be announced.
  4. Awards will include a certificate for the individual winners, posting of names on a perpetual plaque, and publicity on the DIR web site.

News Archive

News Archive
For older news, please visit the News Archive.