View a 508-compliant PDF of this issue here: NICHD_Connection_2016_09.pdf

Congratulations to all 20 fellows and graduate students who received the annual Fellows Award for Research Excellence (FARE) during the 2017 competition. FARE is a competition to recognize the noteworthy research completed by intramural fellows. Twenty NICHD awardees out of a total of 206 finalists is a terrific accomplishment, and we had the third highest number of winners after NCI and NIAID.

To learn more about FARE, please visit

Below is the list of award recipients, together with the name of each person’s mentor. Don’t forget to check out their posters at the annual NIH Research Festival, September 14–16 (see September events).

Gregory Holmes-Hampton (Rouault)
Carlos Guardia (Bonifacino)
Rui Jia (Bonifacino)
Felipe Montecinos (Nossal)
Yeyi Zhu (DIPHR)*
Gernot Wolf (Macfarlan)*
Annabel Berthon (Stratakis)
Sarah Pugh (DIPHR)
Shristi Rawal (DIPHR)
Ki Soon Kim (Rouault)
Josefina Ocampo (Clark)*
Sang Yoon Park (Bonifacino)
Maria Bagh (Mukherjee)*
Eric Cheng (Machner)
Pushpanathan Muthuirulan (Lee)
Daniela Calvigioni (McBain)
Wei-Chia Tseng (Porter)
Jason Wester (McBain)
Alejandro Alvarez-Prats (Balla)
Solji Park (DeCherney)*
(*Indicates previous winners)