Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Intramural Research Fellowship Applications Due September 8

In 2018, DIR launched a competitive research funding opportunity for NICHD postdoctoral, visiting, and clinical fellows—the Intramural Research Fellowship (IRF). Its main objective is to promote grant writing among our intramural trainees, while enhancing awareness of the various application components of an NIH grant. These research fellowships are specifically for NICHD intramural fellows within their second or third year of training, preparing them for the process of applying for an NIH grant. 

More information about the fellowship details (eligibility, scoring, review process, submission requirements, etc.) can be found at on the Intramural Research Fellowship website.

For applications that result in an award, the appointed lab will receive $25,000 for one fiscal year (FY24) toward the fellow’s stipend, equipment, and/or travel to a scientific conference related to their proposed work.

The application deadline is Friday, September 8, 2023. There is a mandatory virtual training session for all prospective applicants on Wednesday, June 7, 1–2:30 p.m. (via Zoom). Please refer to the June Events for more information about this training session.

NICHD DIR Welcomes Our Newest Developing Talent Scholars

Established in 2011, the NICHD Developing Talent Scholar Program exposes young trainees to Division of Intramural Research activities, committees, retreats, forums, and workshops on team science, management, and grant writing. Each Scholar also has the opportunity to work in an NICHD lab, contributing to the lab’s research initiative. Please join us in congratulating our two new (and one continuing!) 2023 Developing Talent Scholar Program awardees:

  • Regina Stasser de Ganzalez (Mentor: Anirban Banerjee, PhD)
  • Sarah Alsuleiman (Mentor: Matthias Machner, PhD)
  • Samra Beyene (Mentor: Timothy Petros, PhD) *
    *This is Ms. Beyene’s 2nd year in the program

Fellows Recruitment Incentive Award (FRIA) Continues to Grow NICHD’s Talent Pool

Sarah Sheppard, MD, PhD, MS, has been awarded the 2023 FRIA award for her support of postdoc Luciana Daniela Garlisi Torales, MD. Dr. Torales studies the underlying molecular causes of a type of vascular malformation known as complex lymphatic anomalies. She is also investigating a novel genetic cause for central conducting lymphatic anomaly, one of the complex lymphatic anomalies.

The objective of the NICHD FRIA is to encourage investigators in the Division of Intramural Research to recruit a diverse group of individuals, including those from groups traditionally underrepresented in science, for potential postdoctoral fellowship appointments in NICHD laboratories.

Abstract Submission for Scientific Retreat Due This Month

Please mark your calendars for the annual NICHD Intramural Scientific Retreat on Tuesday, September 26th. This will be an in-person event and will take place in the Porter Neuroscience Building.

The retreat organizing committee invites all scientific staff, fellows, graduate students and postbacs who are interested in presenting their work at this retreat to submit a title and a brief abstract of up to 150 words. Please use the submission form that was circulated via email on May 30th and return the completed abstract submission to Amaressa Abiodun at by COB on Friday, June 16th for consideration.

Congrats to the 2023 Virtual Postbac Poster Day Winners

Congratulations to all NICHD postbacs who participated in the 2023 Virtual Postbac Poster Day competition on April 19–20, 2023. Over 50 NICHD postbacs joined the event! Teams composed of graduate students, postdocs, and NIH scientific staff scored the posters and student presentations for all postbac participants.

Announcing the NICHD postbacs (and their mentors) who received a top 20% score:

  • Keith Ameyaw (Brant Weinstein, PhD, and Leah Greenspan, PhD)
  • Tyler Bruno (Dan Sacket, PhD, and Benjamin Feldman, PhD)
  • Juwaan Douglas-Jenkins (Gisela Storz, PhD, and Rilee Zeinert, PhD)
  • Elizabeth Giordano (Mary Dasso, PhD, and Vasilisa Aksenova, PhD)
  • Yi Hsien Hsieh (Juan Bonifacino, PhD, and Jennifer Kunselman, PhD)
  • Alexandra Jean-Louis (Katherine Grantz, MD, and Jessica Gleason, PhD)
  • Summer Khan (Mathias Machner, PhD, and Candice (Yuen Yan) Chang, PhD)
  • Georgia Krikorian (Sarah Sheppard, MD, PhD, MS)
  • Celia Martinez-Aceves (Brant Weinstein, PhD, and Jong Park, PhD)
  • Katerina Melnyk (Forbes Porter, MD, PhD, and Niamh Cawley, PhD)
  • Golnar Mostashari (Bruce Tromberg, PhD, and Timothy Quang, PhD)
  • Emily Petroni (Philip Adams, PhD)
  • John Prevedel (Brant Weinstein, PhD, and Kiyohito Taimatsu, PhD)
  • Allison Saul (Katherine Rogers, PhD)
  • Dhyanam Shukla (Sarah Sheppard, MD, PhD, MS, and Scott Paulissen, PhD)
  • Daniel Soliman (Philip Adams, PhD)

NIH UNITE: Ending Structural Racism (ESR) Activities

The NIH UNITE initiative was established to identify and address structural racism within the NIH-supported and the greater scientific community.

The ESR Intranet includes various resources like the ToolkitNewsletterFAQs, and other information.

UNITE Milestones and Progress and the Co-Chairs Corner (public ESR webpages) are other avenues to stay informed on UNITE efforts.