View a 508-compliant PDF of this issue here: NICHD_Connection_2016_12.pdf

A look back at the numerous accomplishments belonging to fellows in the NICHD Division of Intramural Research (DIR) during 2016:

  • The NICHD DIR held the Twelfth Annual Meeting of Postdoctoral, Clinical, and Visiting Fellows and Graduate Students at the National Museum of the American Indian on April 22, 2016. Keynote speakers included Eric Betzig, 2014 Nobel Prize Laureate in Chemistry and group leader at HHMI’s Janelia Research Campus, and Dr. Jorge Cham, the creator of PhD Comics.
  • Drs. Sarah Cohen and Alex Valm (Lippincott-Schwartz Lab) won the 2016 fellows retreat image competition with their image “Multicolor organelles in an African Green Monkey kidney cell.”
  • Greg Marquart (Burgess Lab) won the 2016 Scientific Retreat Image competition with his image “18 Fish in 1: Expression patterns from18 larval zebrafish show distinct subsets of neurons within the brain.”
  • Dr. Shlomo Krispin, nominated by postbac fellow Margaret Burns, received the NICHD Fellow Mentor of the Year award. Dr. Julian Lui (Staff Scientist), nominated by postbac fellow Michal Ad, received the NICHD Investigator Mentor of the Year award.
  • Twenty NICHD fellows received the 2017 Fellows Award for Research Excellence at the 30th Annual NIH Research Festival (complete list here)
  • During the 2016 Postbac Poster Day, a total of 14 NICHD postbacs received an overall top 20 percent poster award (NIH-wide) or one of the three “Best Poster” NICHD awards (complete list here).
  • Dr. Alex Szatmary, postdoctoral fellow in the Nossal lab, placed third in the 2016 Three-minute-Talk (TmT) Competition.
  • Dezmond C. Taylor-Douglas, graduate student in the Yanovski lab, was selected for an oral presentation at the 2016 NIH Graduate Student Symposium.
  • Dr. Neelam Dabas Sen, postdoctoral fellow in the Hinnebusch lab, received the 2016 WSA Scholar Award from the NIH Women Scientist Advisory Committee.
  • Dr. Parmit Kumar Singh, postdoctoral fellow in the Levin lab, received the 2016 Intramural AIDS Research Fellowship and the 18th Annual Norman P. Salzman Memorial Award in Virology.
  • Dr. Dan Benjamini, postdoctoral fellow in the Basser lab, won the 2016 Giulio Cesare Borgia Prize at the 13th International Bologna Conference on Magnetic Resonance in Porous Media.  

A big THANK YOU to all of our 2016 newsletter contributors (in no particular order):

Courtney Kurtyka, Afrouz Anderson, Si Young Lee, Yvette Pittman, Marina Venero Galanternik, Jeremy Swan, Nicki Swan, Brenda Hanning, Daniel Flores, Suna Gulay, Pushpanathan Muthuirulan, Sudhir Rai, Smriti Aryal, Arnab Datta, Uma Neelathi, Neelam Dabas Sen, Alessandro Albano, Libby Barksdale, Melissa Cunningham, Thomas Miller, Mahua Mukhopadhyay, Ramona Neunuebel, Margarito Rojas, Marci Rosenberg, Ajay Sharma, Lauren Wooddell, Mihail Zilbermint, Sourav Haldar, Gülcan Akgül, Anna Roberts-Pilgrim, Amy Palin, Marina Venero Galanternik, Laura Gorrell, Raghuveer Kavarthapu, Vivek Mahadevan, Fardin Ghobakhlou, Amra Saric, Zelia Ferreira Worman, Lingyu Bao, Shelby Newsad, Parmit Kumar Singh, Dan Benjamini, Greg Palardy

Please submit your accomplishments for publication in the newsletter throughout the year to