Congratulations to all fellows who received the annual Fellows Award for Research Excellence (FARE) for the 2024 competition. FARE is an NIH-wide competition that recognizes the important research of intramural fellows. We extend sincere congratulations to our 11 winners as well as a special thanks to all NICHD fellows who submitted an abstract and shared their research with the intramural community.

Announcing this year’s NICHD FARE recipients and their research:

Rilee Zeinert, PhD

“Cryo-EM of Magnesium Transporter MgtA reveals a Dimeric P-type ATPase”

Laboratory of Gisela Storz, PhD, Section on Environmental Gene Regulation

Nathan William, PhD, MS

“Water exchange rates measure tissue viability and homeostasis”

Laboratory of Peter Basser, PhD, Section on Tissue Biophysics and Biomimetics

Yingbiao Zhang, PhD

“Wdr59 promotes or inhibits TORC1 activity depending on cellular context”

Laboratory of Mary Lilly, PhD, Section on Gamete Development

Jinho Park, PhD

“Modification of a conventional deep learning model to classify simulated breathing patterns: A step toward real-time monitoring of patients with infectious diseases”

Laboratory of Amir Gandjbakhche, PhD, Section on Translational Biophotonics

Natalia Cestari Moreno, PhD

“Human DNA polymerase eta is a new substrate of the NEDD8 ubiquitin-like conjugating pathway”

Laboratory of Roger Woodgate, PhD, Section on DNA Replication, Repair, and Mutagenesis

Zhaoyi Peng

“Protein arginine methyltransferase 1 regulates adult intestinal proliferation and enteroendocrine cells differentiation”

Laboratory of Yun-Bo Shi, PhD, Section on Molecular Morphogenesis

Shreeta Chakraborty, PhD

“Robust enhancer-promoter interactions ensure faithful gene regulation during embryonic development independently of CTCF”

Laboratory of Pedro Rocha, PhD, Unit on Genome Structure and Regulation

Yuen Yan Chang, PhD

“Manipulation of the human ubiquitination by a novel virulence factor in Legionella pneumophila

Laboratory of Matthias Machner, PhD, Section on Microbial Pathogenesis

Geoffrey Vargish, PhD

“A novel evolutionarily conserved inhibitory circuit selectively regulates dentate gyrus mossy cell function”

Laboratory of Chris McBain, PhD, Section on Cellular and Synaptic Physiology

Louis Tung Faat Lai, PhD

“Stepwise lipid transport mechanism of MFSD2A revealed by cryo-EM”

Laboratory of Doreen Matthies, PhD, Unit on Structural Biology

Megan Parker, MS

“An experimental study of the effects of cognitive fatigue on youth’s energy intake: Interaction of cognitive fatigue with reported dietary restraint”

Laboratory of Jack Yanovski, MD, PhD, Section on Growth and Obesity