Rep Report logoAs the current NICHD Basic Sciences Institutes and Centers (IC) Representative, I represent NICHD postdoctoral fellows at the NIH Fellows Committee (FelCom) monthly meeting and share the latest news with you here. Do you have a concern or question that you want brought up at the next meeting? Contact me, Hyo Won Ahn, at hyowon.ahn@nih.gov.


OITE’s Biotech Interest Group (OITE-BIG) introduced themselves during the April FelCom meeting.

OITE-BIG is a fellow-led group aiming to serve fellows interested in exploring industry-related career options. The group provides previously inaccessible industry-related opportunities in biotech to increase participants’ industry skillset, knowledge, and connections.

There are two levels of participation in OITE-BIG: 

Please contact Mona Miraftab (mona.miraftab@nih.gov) or Alex Sathler (sathlerar@nih.gov) for more information about the group.

The Service and Outreach Subcommittee is planning another “Science for Kids” event in May. They are hoping to recruit fellows who have kid-friendly experiments and demonstrations in mind and are willing to conduct them at the event. Fellows should message either Alex Vendola (alex.vendola@nih.gov) or Rachel Keith (rachel.keith@nih.gov) if they are interested in volunteering for the upcoming May event!

Visiting Fellows Committee (VFC) is hosting VF Insight Forum: Financial Literacy as a Visiting Fellow on Wednesday, May 22, 2:00–3:00 p.m. More details to follow.

VFC has three open positions, including 1) VFC co-chair, 2) Social Subcommittee, and 3) Communications Officer. If you have questions or are interested, please email Harrison Daly (harrison.daly@nih.gov).

The Fellows Safety Committee (FSC) has multiple openings for anyone interested in subcommittee chair and liaison leadership positions within the FSC. As a bonus, those leadership opportunities look great on your CV! Questions about this meeting and open positions can be directed to David Mallick (david.mallick@nih.gov).


Did you know that there are several ways to stay informed on postdoc activities and events?